Stuff

Why do we all have so much stuff?  I have obsessively been trying to clear my house of  “Clutter” and “Stuff”.  I have cleaned out junk drawers, closets, throwing out Tupperware lids that have no bowls to go with it.  I have filled probably 4 boxes and 3 gigantic bags of clothes and things that have just been taking up space.  For example, I went through a few of my kitchen cabinets…I threw out spices and tea bags that were so old they didn’t even smell anymore.  I counted the coffee cups, there are 32 of them,27  beer glasses, they are taking up too much space and mismatched wine glasses, not two the same.  In my china hutch I have beautiful crystal wine glasses that we use…why keep the dollar store ones?  When the Guys came home and they saw what I was doing they went beserk…I was getting rid of their STUFF!  They were told to go through all the glasses and coffee cups and to pick only the ones that they use and that they really love.  Forget about it!  All the glasses and cups went back in the cabinet, they were all too special to part with…….yikes.  In the basement there were two large boxes filled with picture frames with every 8×10 school picture, team picture, family portrait, group Scout pictures…..you get the idea.  I took the pictures out of the frames with the intention of putting all the pictures in a photo album.  I think it is a fabulous idea.  Joe thought I should save every single frame AAAARRRRGGGGHHH.  Most of them are Walmart quality frames,

 I am keeping the expensive nice ones for future use and giving the rest to Goodwill.    I told Billy to clean out his closet and get rid of some “stuff”, he gave up about 10 pairs of jeans but not a single t-shirt.  He has so many ripped, oil stained, shrunken, paint splattered, and old high school shirts that they won’t all fit in his dresser.  Won’t give up one.  Joe saves everything.  Old computer parts, a broken printer, empty coffee cans, empty pretzel canisters, and he loves 1/2 gallon plastic jugs.  He has a proposed use for each thing, mostly Scouts and camping.  My basement-his side of the basement-looks like it could be on an episode of “Hoarders”.  With all that said, I think I need to stop watching that show…it makes me crazy.

8 responses

  1. When I was in the Navy we moved every three years, and we were billed if our household goods weight exceeded a set amount. We never had extra junk. That habit has stuck, and we have very little extra stuff.

  2. Sooo… I’ve lived in this brand new house 8 years now… junk, where does it all come fom? I now have a hose like my old on e that was filled with stuff for 23 years. The junk just seems to follow me. The garbage comes tomorrow so after this, I’m going back into the basement to get the rest of the junk I started going thru. It’s all going int o the garbage. I only keep the important stuff, like high school notes from my best friend! I had stuff I was storing for Dave and for Steph, and I have stuff of Jons.. but I’ll just downsize that to a box for someday. Blogging is good, but when i blog, I say waht’s on my mind… so beware, my blogs are coming too!!!

    What? i just tried submitting this and it said.. “looks like you already said this” How in the heck does the computer know what I’m saying!!

  3. Sooo… I’ve lived in this brand new house 8 years no… junk, where does it all come fom? I now have a hose like my old on e that was filled with stuff for 23 years. The junk just seems to follow me. The garbage comes tomorrow so after this, I’m going back into the basement to get the rest of the junk I started going thru. It’s all going int o the garbage. I only keep the important stuff, like high school notes from my best friend! I had stuff I was storing for Dave and for Steph, and I have stuff of Jons.. but I’ll just downsize that to a box for someday. Blogging is good, but when i blog, I say waht’s on my mind… so beware, my blogs are coming too!!!

  4. Growing up,, when my closet was jammed full, my mom would tell me for every item I would bring home I would have to get rid of something,, and she would hold me to it… Karen says the same thing… It doesn’t seem to bother anyone but you though.

Leave a Reply

