Woe is Me

For a few weeks now my daily fatigue has been completely debilitating.  My  constant complaints of insomnia have changed to constant complaints of sleepiness.  My nighttime sleep has been averaging 10-12 hours a night and I wake up groggy and tired.  Doing anything during the day is utterly impossible, and every part of my daily life is sorely missing my attention.  My house looks like a frat house, there is nothing to eat in the fridge, and I can no longer see the floor in my laundry room. 
My aches and pains have increased to point that I am starting to believe my doctor’s diagnosis of Fibromyalgia.   (I can do without the “F” word diagnosis thankyouverymuch)
This overwhelming zombie-like feeling doesn’t feel like messed up thyroid levels.  I also haven’t had any massive attacks of intestinal upset and purging that would make me consider low potassium. (which is a fairly common thing for me) 
My freaking Addison’s Disease is just making me miserable I guess.  I increased my daily steroid meds a tiny bit for a few days…it didn’t help.
The brain fog is troubling me.  I forget what I am talking about in the middle of a sentence.   Word searching while talking has turned some conversations into pure nonsense.  I was trying to tell my sister – Mono girl – about how my internet was down yesterday, and I kept saying insurance instead of internet.  It made sense to me when I was saying it!   She was nice to me and didn’t make fun of me.  Words right there in brain….brain won’t connect to mouth = frustrating.
Of course, none of my doctors want to even discuss these problems. 
I’m going to bed.
Again.
15 responses

  1. As I’m catching up on your posts, and commenting, I’m fighting to keep my eyes open. This fatigue is most definitely rediculous! Slept 8 hours last night, but that doesn’t seem to have helped much :S When I do fight to get through the day without a nap, I’m ready to crash hard by 6pm. Coffee doesn’t do anything to wake me up anymore. Hmmm…wonder what would happen if I chugged a couple of those crazy energy drinks every morning 😛

  2. Oh Mo, my dear sister from another mother-

    Hate the F* word too.

    I have been there.

    Wondering if it’s time to asked for a sleep evaluation. I too was sleeping 10 to 12 hours a night … then I got diagnosed with sleep apnea. Now I can get away with 8 to 10 hours on a good day and have a skosh more energy during the day.

    Also, there may be some medications to consider that might help you get better sleep so you don’t spend so much time in bed trying to get restored.

    Just my 2 cents ….

    Your sis, Selena

    • Hey Soul Sister! I am on meds to sleep now, a good combo. But if I have anything heavy on my mind it seems my brain racing will keep me up. The “F” word is the pits. I’ve been taking Aleve lately and it has helped me some. I hope I never have to take something stronger. I’d rather medicate with vodka and lemonade. (just kidding)
      xoxomo

  3. Wish that great health was only around the corner. But what is there from dawn to dusk are people who love you without question and celebrate your “good” days and offer the warmth of a hand on the days that are not.

    • With you health problems you understand this life of chronic illness….it’s a bitch. How has your health bee treating you? Drop me a line so we can catch up!
      Love, Reenie

  4. Hi Mo,
    I’m sorry to hear you are having a rough time. I had a feeling to come visit your blog and I feel EXACTLY the same way. I know this doesn’t help you any at all but at least I can say I understand.
    The brain fog, the sleepiness and insomnia, the laundry, and I have dogs so my house is like a doghouse too. And it is hot! Sigh…
    I hate the “F” diagnosis too. I’m getting so thin I’ll blow away soon if I don’t gain some weight. I’m very weak and stressed. I talked to my nurse practitioner the other day and in one sentence, I said three or four words wrong. She wrote down that maybe my meds were causing that. Sigh again…
    I hope you get to feeling better very soon.
    I wish we could just get well.
    Maybe you’ll catch some sleep.

    • I wish I could cook for you a few days! No, I wish my son, the Firefighter could cook for you! He is, I’ve heard, the best of the whole group. He’d get you to gain a few pounds. Feel better, and I’m glad you came to visit!
      xoxomo

      • Hi Mo,
        What a nice thought to have someone cook for me! You would be nice but after reading your description of your son, well, I’d have to choose him! I love firefighters, red trucks and grill masters!
        PS I was a firefighter for a little while.

        Thanks for your well wishes and right back at you Mo!

        • I always tell my son that if I had been a boy, I would have been a firefighter…but I am afraid of heights, so I probably wouldn’t have made it through the training. He is a GREAT cook. That’s cool that you did such a cool job! I worked for the police for 23 years and I loved that too. Closest
          to being a firefighter that I ever got! Hope today is a decent day for you.
          xoxomo

  5. So sorry that you are feeling lousy, Mo! I hate that “always tired” feeling- it seems the same no matter how much I sleep, so I am trying to keep it to 8 because sometimes over-sleeping feels just as bad. And “Booo!” to your doctors. :{ *hugs*

  6. Sounds like you were describing me during bad moments. I describe the trying to recall words as “it’s trying to pull the word through a wet washcloth” It just won’t pass through.

    I’m sorry you are having such a rough week. Is the weather rainy up there. It has been here and I always have more problems when the weather pressure changes.

    Hang in there. BTW, the laundry can wait unless you are running around naked! 🙂

    • Sleep, what an illusive enemy. Can;t get him to leave during the day, and ya can’t find him at night. Laundry, a job that never every gets done. AAARRRGGGHHH
      xoxomo

  7. I’m sorry that this is happening to you Maureen! None of us deserve this type of situation and lack of doctors caring.

    Sending positive thoughts your way!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

