Mom’s progress

Happy Fourth of July to everyone in the States!  Fireworks are illegal in my state, but you would never guess it by the activity in my neighborhood.  My poor dog is just a wreck…I finally gave her some Benadryl (vet recommended) and she fell asleep.  Tonight, I’m sure. will be especially crazy and loud.
Dan, is at a golf outing today with his college buddies.  His group of friends have several designated drivers so I don’t worry too much.  Four or five guys don’t drink because of their religion, they are Muslim, so all us Moms are less frantic.
Bill, the firefighter, was in two parades yesterday driving the fire truck, and today he is pulling a float in a parade somewhere.  Did you ever wonder who those guys were driving the floats?  He’s been doing this for about 5 years now and they make good money, and then they sometimes get a tip from whichever float he is pulling.  Long day though.
Joe just left for his part-time job at R.E.I.  He won’t be home until about 6:00, so I am going to try to get some rest so I can go to the hospital later.
****************************************************************
Well, Friday evening the orthopedic surgeon came to check on my Mom’s leg.  She was in a lot of pain and the Doctor asks my Sister (mono girl)  if there were x-rays taken of her other leg?????  WHAT????  He was concerned that there was something up because of her pain level.  Since when is it the family’s responsibility to think of everything?  Shouldn’t the ER doctor done a complete exam of an 87-year-old woman who broke her leg in a fall?? We were livid.  They did x-rays and found no breaks or fractures in the leg.  That would have been a nightmare.
She is eating soft food, drinking out of a straw and moving her feet and arms around.  Shes’ more aware of what is going on then we thought.  Yesterday we were watching the baseball game, and I asked Joe what the score was.  She then proceeded to tell me the score, the inning, and that the pitcher was doing a shitty job.  We thought she was sleeping.  Gotta be careful…she hears everything we say!!
All in all, everything is going well with the leg…but she is still in ICU because of her heart and respiratory problems.  They still consider her high risk.  She is surprising us all everyday with her progress.
Thanks for all the prayers and good thoughts!
XOXOXOXO  MO
6 responses

  1. Glad to read an update Maureen! I hope that your Mom will feel some pain relief soon, and am continuing to keep you all in my thoughts and prayers.

    I love that she caught you all by surprise with her baseball update! lol That’s got to be a good sign 🙂

    Take care,

    Nancy

  2. Praise God and baseball!! That was always Lois’ forte with the Cubs. I remember her lovingly “allowing” me to wear her precious Cubs jacket to a ballgame with Joe and the boys when I visited with Lisa. (Cubs actually WON that night!) Must have been the jacket and not the pitching. Keep the TV on. Lois should have been managing the Cubs all along!!!!

  3. Glad to hear from your mom and yourself, Maureen. I think it is amusing that she was so well aware of the ball game…watch what you say my friend!

    Good to hear that things are going well for both of you…rest whenever you are able. Hope your mom continues to make good progress.

    Love,
    Jo

  4. Thank you so much for the update. I have been wondering how your mom was doing. I hate that she is in so much pain and there are still other problems but I am glad that she is stable.

    Sending you and your mom lots of hugs and love.

    BTW – Fireworks are outlawed in your STATE? That is awful!

Leave a Reply

