Pajama Party with Mom

My sister Karen (Mono Girl) has been staying with my Mom all day, all night, (and as my kids used to say) all noon, even now that Mom has been moved to a rehab facility.  I haven’t felt good enough to sleep overnight  but I’m working the night shift finally.  Nice comfortable recliner that goes all the way back into a bed, a TV and A/C…that’s all I need. 

Mom got up and sat on the edge of the bed for about 20 minutes today and did some arm exercises.  She is totally crashed out now.  Tomorrow morning (at 7:30!!!) she needs to go to the hospital for her weekly infusion of heart meds.   She’s been going for these visits for over a year, but they can’t do it here at the rehab place because there has to a cardiologist within yelling distance.  She is a little testy now because we can’t find the Cubs game on TV,  we thought they were playing tonight.  I found the Sox game but all I got was a dirty look…forget about it…she ain’t watching no damn Sox game!

I doubled my steroid daily dose, and it did pull me out of my semi Addisonian Crisis  I wasn’t careful and didn’t pay attention to the signals that I was heading into trouble.   At the advice of my dear fellow AD girlfriends Jo and Wanda, I upped my dose even though it’s the last thing I want to do. Anyone who takes steroids knows what I mean…it can make you nuts.  Nobody should  piss me off when I am like this….watch out steroid rage!

♥ Totally Rambling Below ♥

Oh, last night I couldn’t fall asleep (so what else is new) and I was channel surfing.  I came upon my favorite  childhood show The Man From U.N.C.L.E. …  I mean, I loved this show, I joined the fan club, I didn’t play house…I played spy girl.  Ya know what….this show sucked.   I watched it for about 10 minutes, and turned it off.  I was in love with those guys…Napolean Solo and Illya Kuriwhateverhisnamewas.  Oh, well, I think that show is what made me go into law enforcement, couldn’t be a cop, but worked as a dispatcher and records division.  I wanted to be the Girl from U.N.C.L.E.

I have heard that another of my fav shows from the 1960’s-1970’s is being made into a movie.  Yes my Dears….DARK SHADOWS!  Barnabas Collins will be played by JOHNNY DEPP!!  Now that is a sexy vampire!

Not looking forward to tomorrow….Good Night.

 

5 responses

  1. I am SO glad to hear you’re up for your mom, at least via meds. Love hearing she’s her feisty self. Give ’em hell Lois! Girl, we should have been neighbors growing up. I loved that spy stuff, the Man from UNCLE & well, a Dark Shadows freak twas I! We used to play spy ALL the time & cut out pix/articles from Tiger Beat & 16 Magazine of everything DS. My girlfriend still has our collective stuff: magazines, trading cards, game, LPs, posters, paperbacks. I can’t wait to see Johnny Depp play Barnabas. We will definitely need to get together to go see it when it comes out. Hang tough, chickee. I’m always pluggin’ for ya. Love ya! Michelle

  2. Oh my gosh! Talk about a trip down memory lane! Dark Shadows! I used to love that show!

    What a great idea! A pajama party with mom! I’m glad you were able to pull out of your AD. Take it easy my friend. I don’t want you to land in bed for days/weeks.

    I am keeping you in my daily thoughts and prayers and your wonderful, ‘sweet’ mom!

    Don’t tell her I like the Red Sox! 🙂

  3. Glad that you are monitoring your meds intake, Maureen and know when to step up and when to step down.
    Kudos to Lois for sitting up for a while and voicing her opinion on ” wantin’ no stinkin’ Sox”!!! All this discomfort and aggravation and you want to add SOX to the mix? Hell, no……!!! That’s Lois!!!

Leave a Reply

