Where am I today? I’m not sure.

I haven’t been posting because taking care of my Mom and trying to keep up with everything else has put my blogging on the back burner.  I hate it.  I have always looked so forward to reading all my favorite blogs, and keeping up with everyone, but I can’t find the time now.  I miss you all.

Now, to catch you up on what has been happening.

  • My Mom was put back in the hospital a week ago today because her incision from her surgery opened up.  The surgeon took cultures and there was no infection.  Today however, the incision started bleeding and oozing.  Back on antibiotics. 

  • Yesterday she was in of pain when she peed.   She has had a catheter for four weeks, and we suspect a UTI.  We get results tomorrow.  The catheter is out.

  • After some loud bitching and a lot of finger-pointing, I insisted that a cat scan be done on her stomach.  She was very constipated from the narcotics, and hadn’t had a BM in 6 days.  Everyone kept saying that when she pooped she would feel better.  I had the GP call my Gastro guy in for a consult.  Well, she had a bowel obstruction.  I wanted to say “I told you it wasn’t constipation you Knuckheads!’ ‘But I didn’t.  The doc helped her through that problem….you don’t want to know how.

  • The combo of some of her meds was making her very confused.  Why don’t doctors check stuff like?  My pharmacist does…ya think a doctor would.

I am seriously behind in my laundry.  My house is a wreck.  I don’t care.

12 responses

  1. Hi Maureen,
    Sorry to hear about your mom,hope she soon recovers. I thought it was just in the UK where we had incompetent medical staff. We had a very similar problem with my mother inlaw who had a previous op for bowel cancer and some two years later had a blockage due to scaring. It took 2 weeks in hospital before they diagnosed the problem even though she never went to the toilet. My husband was livid and they only sorted things out because I think they got fed up of him going on at them, rant over. The laundry doesn’t matter, that’s what my hubby keeps telling me, mind you he tells me that about everything that’s getting me down then trys to do it himself,bless. If you would like to read more about my story and what hubby does to help click on the attached link http://dld.bz/mBZq and if you like what you see maybe you may consider swapping URLS or HTML banner so we can advertise each others sites and spread the word about our condition and how we try to cope with it.

  2. First of all, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the new look!

    Second, I’m glad you mom has you there in her corner. I was just telling someone the other day, if you can, you should no longer go to the doctors or hospital alone anymore.

    Third, I’m glad it sounds like you are making some headway with getting some improvement for your mom

    Fourth, I know the laundry can wait, but if you like me, it will drive you crazy!

    Fifth, You ARE AMAZING! I can’t believe all you have dealt with and you are still hanging in there.

    Sending you lots of love and hugs!

    Send a hug to your mom for me!

  3. Oh how I wish there was something I could do to help you out. I’ll keep those prayers a’comin! Here’s a BIG HUG just for you to hold onto!!! xoxo, Michelle

  4. It’s good to hear “your voice” once again! I earnestly ask that you be continuously given the gifts of bitchin’ from the Bitchdom Queenship. There’s nothing like making things happen when things aren’t happening and you have worn these pearls well. Your illnesses ,ironically, allow you to see things in a different light than the average bear would. Rest when able. Leave the house chores to the wee Irish nymphs.

  5. We miss you too, but I’m glad that you stepped in to make sure Mom is getting everything she needs. Laundry isn’t the end of the world- remember, if it’s not stained or stinky, it’s fine! *hug*

  6. Aw Mo, I’m sorry your mom is going through this rough patch. And I’m really glad that as nice as you are, you are capable of getting doctors to toe the line and get that CAT scan done!

Leave a Reply

