Woe is Me

How do all of you deal with your inevitable flair ups/crashes/crisis?  I have my tricks but as we all know, nothing is foolproof and chronic disease comes with no guarantee. 

My Mother has been in the hospital and nursing home since June 28 after her fall and subsequent surgery on her broken leg.  My sister Karen (formerly known as Mono Girl) and I have been staying with Mom and fighting exhaustion daily.  I must say that Karen spends twice as much time with  our Mom, my body rebels and drags me to my bed after about 24 hours.   Karen is also a Chronic Girl, plagued with autoimmune issues, so she lives with daily demons also.

My question is:  How do you prepare for situations that you know will lead you to major malfunction?  Does anything work for you?  Do you end up in bed or on the couch anyway even after taking care to pace yourself?  Then what? 

My careful planning has not helped me today one bit.  My pain level is about a seven, my fatigue level is a definite 10, my cognitive issues are OK, maybe a two.  My tolerance for further stress…..oh well, let’s say I am not leaving the house today.

So, fellow chronics…what do you do?

4 responses

  1. I don’t know what to say. I think what makes this hard is that this situation is ongoing. I have lots of strategies for dealing with a one day or one week event. If something comes up that is ongoing, I just hunker down, do the best I can do and pray that my body adjusts. Overall, while I adjust, I cut back on other things and rest more and whenever I can. The bottom line is that I can only do what I can do, and when push comes to shove, I have to take care of myself first. Hang in there sweetie! Thinking of you.

  2. Sometimes you just have to accept the eventual cost if it is important enough. Dragging myself into work yesterday, even if it was only for half a day, was probably not one of the smarter things I’ve done. I don’t remember the drive home at all (except vague thoughts of wanting to buy food so I wouldn’t have to make something and being afraid that it would be too much and I wouldn’t be able to get the rest of the way home if I stopped).

    If I know something is coming up I try to ration. Take extra-good care of myself ahead of time and during- lots of water and veggies and extra pampering. But sometimes you just have to do things. I try to warn folks if I can: “I can do x and y, but I will probably have to miss z if I do both.” While our hearts make exceptions for family, our bodies don’t always go along with that plan. *hugs*

  3. Mo, I feel for you! I’m just starting to get back on my feet after three weeks of doing far too much. It was a good thing (my grandson is here!) but it was still stressful.

    I just kept going until I couldn’t go any more. Then I got up and did it again. I crashed one day during this time frame and slept for 20 hours…but then I got right back up and kept going. I just did what I had to do and paid for it afterwards. I don’t know any other way to do it.

    One thing I did do was stuff my emotions. There was a lot of crazy stuff going on and I just refused to let it get to me. But I did a LOT of decompressing when I got home though. My husband got an earful!!

    And I guess it goes without saying but I’ll say it anyhow…don’t do any more than you absolutely have to do and let everything that doesn’t need to be done right now go… hang in there!

Leave a Reply

