My Smart Dog….ranked # 17. Pretty good I think!

I have a wonderful dog.  She is a Keeshond, a breed not seen very often.  They are a beautiful dog, very protective, but will show the burglar where they money is if she gets a cookie out of it.  They are part of the “Non sporting Group” at the dog show.  I interpret that as a dog that likes to sit on the couch with a cold glass of lemonade and watch the baseball game, and of course the Olympics when it’s on.  Can’t get them away from the TV then.

I was curious at how her intelligence ranked overall with some of the other well known breeda, and the genius of the dog world.  Here is the list of the ten smartest dogs……………

  1. Border Collie
  2. Poodle
  3. German Shepherd
  4. Golden Retreiver
  5. Doberman Pinscher
  6. Labrador retriever
  7. Shetland Sheepdog
  8. Papillon
  9. Rottweiler 

 Keeshonds rank at #17 she is right above the German Shorthair Pointer.  Now a German Shorthair Pointer is pretty damned smart! It points out the birds to the hunters….”Hey, hey hey Guys… over there over there shhhh'” then flushes birds and runs out in the water or the field and brings the birds  back to the Hunter. Smart! My Husband had one before we got married.  Poor thing was gun-shy.  Joe shot the gun on their first outing scared the dog, and the dog grabbed the truck keys, hopped in the truck and drove home by herself.  Wanted nothing to do with hunting, or guns.  Poor Joe-Man! Funny!

However, my dog “Tootsie”, the name is a long story, can flush birds like a champ, she can herd my cat and the kids that come to visit my neighbors. 

She is beautiful, she is sweet, she knows tricks, but she still can’t understand why the cat  hates her and won’t play. 

She is a good “Mommy Sitter” when I am sick, hates the Mailman, and knows the sounds of all the vehicles in the family and who is home’

Everyone should have a good dog….it doesn’t even have to be smart dog!  Even the dumb ones love you.

6 responses

  1. So cute!! I don’t know if I’ve ever seen that breed before. But I love smart dogs.

    I’ve been poking around your blog and getting to know you a little :), and I’m glad I’ve found you. I struggle with anxiety too (I just blogged about it today actually) and there’s such a sigh of relief when you find someone else who understands, isn’t there? Not that I’d wish that on anyone, of course.

    And I use too many commas too. 😉

  2. Ah, Maureen!! You brought back some really good memories! I so remember Madie the “huntless” hunting dog of Joe’s and the origin for the name “Tootsie” which will still remain a mystery to others who did not share the experience “back in the day”. As Aunt Fridi would say, “Dogs are really little people covered in fur!” Yes! The sound of a bark and the snuggle of a wet nose!!

  3. I do miss living with a dog at times (although I don’t miss dog-hair tumbleweeds or pooper-scooping much). I go visit my friends with two BFDMs (Big, friendly, dumb mutts) and get my doggy fix. As much as I love them, I wouldn’t trade in the cats for anything. :}

  4. What would we do and where would we be without our dogs? Darby (Shih Tzu) is my constant companion, my friend, confidant, protector and foot warmer. I think he knows what I’m thinking before I do and all I have to do is look into those “baby browns” and he has me, hook, line and sinker. The only problem he has ~ he can not contorl his licker. 🙂 Good blog, Mo.

Leave a Reply

