Let It Be

A few nights ago I stayed overnight with my Mom at the hospital.  She was in terrible pain, and even after all the drugs she was given….she was crying.  I held her hand, I massaged her shoulders, I talked, I cried.  I felt totally helpless.  I couldn’t help my Mom.  Out of desperation I started singing.  The songs that we used to sing when my Brother Bill and I were teenagers.  He would play guitar and I would sing. 

My Mom loved to listen to us.  I sang James Taylor songs, John Denver songs, Beatle songs, Eagles songs, Peter Paul and Mary songs.  Anything I could think of.  I didn’t remember all the words, but I sang anyway.  After about 10 minutes or so, she relaxed and I thought she had fallen asleep.  I sat in the dark still holding her hand for a while.

 She said “don’t stop please”. 

So I sang.

****************************************************************************

When I find myself in times of trouble, mother Mary comes to me,
speaking words of wisdom, let it be.
And in my hour of darkness she is standing right in front of me,
speaking words of wisdom, let it be.
Let it be, let it be, let it be, let it be.
Whisper words of wisdom, let it be.
And when the broken hearted people living in the world agree,
there will be an answer, let it be.
For though they may be parted there is still a chance that they will see,
there will be an answer. let it be.
Let it be, let it be, …..
And when the night is cloudy, there is still a light, that shines on me,
shine until tomorrow, let it be.
I wake up to the sound of music, mother Mary comes to me,
speaking words of wisdom, let it be.
Let it be, let it be, …..
12 responses

  1. this is the song I sing over and over again in regards to the same loss you are feeling!! i love the old songs and the guitar is such a calming instrument. i share your pain and am so moved at the compassion in what you shared with your mom in your love and kindness. that is better than any medicine for the pain, it is love ~ thank you for inspiring me to sing amidst the pain of love hidden, love lost.

  2. Mo…just wanted you to know that you have been coming to mind a lot lately so I have been praying for you and your family a lot lately. I hope things are progressing in a much better fashion. Miss you!

  3. beautiful – I am now caring for my elderly grandmother and it is amazing what old songs will bring back and how much peace and relaxation music can create .. keep it up and hope all is well with you! Thank you for reading my blog too – together we can succeed in this world of chronic pain!

  4. Wow Mo. This is unbelievable. I just don’ t understand how this kind of thing can happen in 2010~ I thought we were so beyond that! My word.

    What a great idea to sing to her. I have heard over and over that music has an incredible calming and healing affect. I would say you saw that play out in reality.

    You are an amazing woman of strength, grace and compassion Mo. I standing in the gap and praying for you and your mom. Let me know if I can be of any help.

  5. I am so sorry that situation just keeps going on and on. I keep sending healing thoughts your way and I hope that they help. This was a beautiful post and my heart just goes out to you and your mom. I have only well wishes and prays for you both.

  6. Like the sweetest of lullabies, but from child to mother. Song is the highest form of prayer. Your heart told you what to do and you followed it. You so beautifully gave Lois moments of peace and solace as only a daughter can. You sang from the soul.

  7. That they’re not doing enough for your mom’s pain is horrifying. But you are an amazing daughter. Hang in there. I enjoy listening to my daughter play her guitar…this brings tears to my eyes…

Leave a Reply

