A Dream is A Wish Your Heart Makes

The theme for the latest blog carnival at Graceful Agony, is A Dream is A Wish Your Heart Makes.

************♥***********

Most little Girls have dreams of growing up and being a Mommy, or a Nurse or a Teacher.  My dream was to be an International Spy.  (I was very into The Man from U.N.C.L.E. TV show).  

I was sailing into my 30’s, having fun living alone with only my cats to answer to.  It never occurred to me to “find” a man.  I never had that maternal pull to have lots of babies.  Most of my friends didn’t have good marriages, why would I want to tie myself down?  I couldn’t cook (still can’t), liked sleeping late  (I still do),  I never made my bed (I do now) and I could do whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted.  A Husband???  I don’t think so.

Then I met Joe.  His ice blue eyes hypnotized me.  His dimples made me weak in the knees.  His square jaw and cleft chin reminded me of Cary Grant.   

 About four weeks later, and maybe three dates I told my Mom that I was going to marry this guy.   She believed me.

Then I found out he was younger than me.  Six and  half years younger than me.  No biggie you think?  I was 31 and this Guy was only 24 years old!!  YIKES!!  I gotta get rid of this Guy I thought.

But I couldn’t get rid of him.  He kept coming back.  Again and again.  My friends liked him.  My Mother liked him.  I liked him. 

We dated a little over a year. We got married.   This wonderful man married me because he loved me.  Despite the odds.  

Everyone but my Mother thought we were crazy. 

  • “It will never work” they whispered
  • “The age difference is too great, he is so young” they gossiped
  • “She is not ready for this, she even forgets to feed her cats”  her friends said.
  • “Youz Guyz don’t even like the same kind of music”  my girlfriend said.
  • My Mother said…”Do you love him?”  the answer was YES

I was scared to death.  I had never lived with anyone.  He moved from his widowed Father’s house to my tiny apartment.  I had to share my closet! I worked nights, he worked days.  I was a night person, he was a day person. 

This marriage that no one thought would last is going on 26 years. 

I had a beautiful baby boy that I had no idea what to do with.  He knew exactly what to do.  Then, I had another beautiful baby boy and Joe was  even more perfect…a perfect Daddy.  We were the perfect family. 

Then my health problems started.

  • Emergency surgery for an ovarian cyst
  •  Diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease
  • Gallbladder surgery
  • Ectopic pregnancy
  • Diagnosed with Endometriosis
  • Surgery to clean up endo and adhesions
  • Miscarriage
  • Hysterectomy
  • Diagnosed with Addison’s Disease, hypo-pituitary, hypo thyroid
  • Repeated Diverticulitis episodes
  • Bowel re-section
  • Fibromyalgia

And guess what?  This man is still here.  He looks at me like I am the most beautiful woman in the world.  He still makes my heart skip a beat when he  smiles.  My kids and my Sister tease us and tell us that we act like newlyweds.  Kissing, sitting next to each other on the couch, dancing when there is no music.  No matter what happens… he is there.  No matter how sick I get…he is there.   No matter what mountain we have to climb he is still here.

He was my rock when my Mother was horribly sick.  He was there with me when  she died…crying like she was his own Mother.  Comforting my Sister and my Sons.  Holding me as my heart broke.

So, after all is said and done…I am living a dream that only my heart knew I was destined for.  What a dream to wake up from…and then realize that it isn’t a dream. It is real.   

This was my destiny even though I didn’t know it.  I couldn’t have dreamed up a man like Joe.  They don’t exist.  I found the only one.

  I am a Disney Princess.  He is my Prince Charming.

The Joe-Man.  What a Guy.

2010

1985

One response

  1. Awww, Mo, you made me cry. That IS what dreams are made of. My Gayle didn’t say anythng about a twin (younger) brother…both with dimples. We are truly blessed. Thank you so much for this blog ~ it made me much more appreciative, just when I was getting ready for a pity party. Luv you, Girl!

Leave a Reply

