I need my Glasses!

Is the writing on food packing getting smaller or is it just me? 

 I have reading glasses, but I don’t have them with me all the time.  I keep them on my nightstand for reading at night.  Now, I find myself needing them whenever I am cooking dinner. 

On the box of a popular rice dish you are instructed to “see side panel” for microwave instructions…the print is so small I need to find one of my kids to read it to me.   Doesn’t everyone use the microwave now? 

Try to check the nutritional values on any box in your pantry.  Anyone over 50 is lucky if they can make it out.  “Wow only 120 calories, I’ll eat two”  but it really says 420 calories, no wonder everyone is fat.

I wrote a letter to the company that makes those great tasting low fat low calorie frozen dinners telling them the writing was entirely unreadable for the senior crowd.  

I got a return letter thanking me for my comments, and a coupon for a free product. 

I still needed my glasses to read the instructions.  It was delicious, but I overcooked it.

4 responses

  1. I love it.

    Try reading *and* doing the math on carbs per serving size –my son is 7, recently diagnosed with type 1 diabetes. I often hear myself saying, “Not now, children, Mama is doing heavy math.” And I, too, have contacted companies, often saying things like, “Your serving size says 1/10th of a package, but there are 4 rolls in there…”

  2. LOL! I can’t read anything without my reading glasses either. I have broken down and gotten a couple of “traveling pairs” to keep in my purse because my hubs is getting tired of having to read everything to me. I mean seriously, what font size are they using??? Just ridiculous!!! I’m glad I’m not the only one…:-)

Leave a Reply

