Medical Marijuana Use

A very interesting show on the History Channel the other night discussed the use of medical marijuana.  What do you think about using cannabis as medicine? 

It has been reported that marijuana can help people with terminal, debilitating, chronic disease, nausea and vomiting, and as an appetite stimulant. It has also been said that it can help cancer and AIDS patients with side effects caused by some of the drugs used to battle their illness.   Some also suggest that it is very effective for treating glaucoma.74% of members of AARP (American Association of Retired People) said that people should be allowed to possess marijuana for medicinal purposes. 

 Even though I am a child of the 60’s and 70’s, I was not a frequent  pot-smoker.  I was a “Boone’s Farm Apple Wine” Gal.  But, I had friends that were often under the influence. 

Would you consider it?  The History Channel show I watched noted some of the ways marijuana could be ingested.  Smoking of course, or used in baking (the old brownie recipe), or for making chocolate candy. 

For a chronically ill person, or a cancer or AIDS patient, do you think it should be made available to them? In the U.S. currently only 15 states have legalized the use of medicinal marijuana use. I live in Illinois, and it is not legal here.  But I could probably find some if I really wanted to.

This is so hilarious, I had to include it!

5 responses

  1. Hi Mo,
    Yes, without a doubt people should have access to medical marijuana. GW Pharmaceuticals has been doing a lot of research and have pure Cannabis in a spray bottle. A recent issue of Science News had a front page article about how it may possibly cure some cancers and even kill tumors. GW, along with several research partners in the US are doing studies on the many medical benefits of Cannabis and also about why people with mental illness use it, the latter of which I think this is smart research and what they are discovering amazes me. We really need to look at what is going on because like Science News’s article reads, –there is more to the story than just “getting high.” The brain is amazing.

    Well wishes to you and I hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. (i apologize in advance for my horrific spelling etc) Ive been saying for years, that if it were legal and taxed with similar laws as alcohol use as far as driving and not consuming in public, we could put a HUGE dent if the debt this country has been dealing with for years. as far as medically speaking, it sickens me that people are opposed in any way. it should be allowed in every state and county. but hey, if you have something organic thta can help people, and you could literally grow it yourself, who would lose money, hmmm, pharmacutical companies. (dont get me started on that. ill just say they money is in the medicine, not the cure) people abuse anything and everything that could get them a buzz, but we still have spraypaint, computer duster, aerosol whipped cream etc. so as usual people who are smart, and responsible (who are becoming few and far between as the idiots reproduce like rabbits) have to suffer. i read this article a while ago and found it rather interesting http://newsjunkiepost.com/2010/02/27/five-things-you-may-%e2%80%98know%e2%80%99-about-marijuana%e2%80%a6-that-aren%e2%80%99t-true/ (i hope it works lol)

  3. I can go both directions on the topic. I am seriously opposed to the use of any drugs be it marijuana, tobacco, alcohol or something harder. I’ve never done drugs, the only thing I’ve done is had a handful of drinks around my 21st birthday just to say I did. I think the use of any substance that clouds your mind or damages your body that you don’t have to take for medical purposes is idiotic. That last sentence will tell you that I can accept someone using marijuana as medicine to treat pain, nausea and vomiting, etc. My father, living in Switzerland, has access to the drug/medicine and has used it to ease his chronic pain. I have no problem with that. The problem I have is that I think there are too many people using the legalization of the substance to justify getting high. If we can solve that problem, I’d have no issues with the topic.

Leave a Reply

