Cats

I have a beautiful black and white Tuxedo Cat.  I got her at an animal shelter shortly after I lost my other cat, Shadow.  I swore I would never get another cat  because I grieved  terribly after we had to put down Mr. Shadow. 

My SIS dragged me to the animal shelter one afternoon, I think because she was sick of looking at my sad face.  When we went in the cat room and nothing interested me.  There would never a cat grand enough to replace Shadow.  Against the wall, in the corner cage a paw and a nose snuck out to survey the situation.  Now, my SIS is not a cat person.  She doesn’t know anything about a cat’s temperament or how to choose one.  She fell in love with this meowing, paw sticking out, rubbing against the cage small cat.  She wanted to see the cat…out it came…into the viewing room.  Well, of course the cat was no dummy.  (I know that cats are very smart and cunning and this cat worked my SIS real good.)  The little thing did the figure eight around her legs, and crawled up her leg, but SIS was especially impressed by the cat’s talking, she had a real conversation with SIS.  We found out that the cat had been at this shelter for over three months.  They had kept her for so long because she was such a nice cat.

You know the rest of the story. Of course I took her home at SIS’S urging.  This cat that I rescued wanted nothing to do with me when we got home.  She apparently loved men.  I complained and moaned because I wanted a cat for ME!  To love me, to cuddle with me!  She was so glad to be out of the cage she spent the first two days and nights  running through the house, up and down the stairs, around all the furniture and discovering her future secret hiding places.  Then at night she happily got on the bed and slept with my hubby.  I was devastated.

I named her Bootsie because she looked like she had white booties on.  Soon she learned that I was the one at home all day. I was the one with the food, and the nice comfy lap.  She also somehow knew when I didn’t feel well, and she was right on me or curled up next to me on the bed.  She learned that I had the  and could scratch her ears best. 

She is now MY cat.  Oh, she will go by one of the guys if she is desperate for a warm lap, or a nice belly rub.  She is a little bit different from any cat I’ve ever had.  She answers to a whistle, she fetches, she hunts, and at every opportunity she gets she tells the dog…don’t forget…you are only here to bark…nothing else. 

Cats are cool.  They have known it for centuries…Humans are beginning to get it. 

“Thousands of years ago, cats were worshipped as gods. Cats have never forgotten this.” – Anonymous

There are few things in life more heartwarming than to be welcomed by a cat. – Tay Hohoff

Dogs come when they’re called; cats take a message and get back to you later.” – Mary Bly

One response

  1. Bootsie is a very “pretty kitty” (hope she doesn’t mind the compliment! she might purfur attractive, or winsome, lol). And, I love the last quote: voice mail was invented by a cat, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

