Weird Emotional Day

Today my SIS and I took my Mom’s clothes to a resale shop that benefits the local domestic abuse shelter.  My Mom always told us that was where she wanted her clothes donated.   The Joe-Man had packed all the boxes and bags into the car for us, so all we had to do was drive there and drop the things off.  It was snowy and beautiful when we got there.  All the Ladies that volunteered at the shop came out and helped us carry everything in. 

Then it hit us.  We were giving another part of my Mom away.  My SIS started crying and one of the Ladies comforted her and talked about when her Mom passed away.  I felt a strong compulsion to take everything back…even though none of it would fit either one of us. 

This post isn’t so much about the clothes.  It’s not about the sadness we felt by giving away all her pretty scarves and purses.  It made us think of the women that will be using these things.  The nice little lady working at the shop explained that the women that come to their shelter pay nothing.  They are given clothes for themselves, and for their children.  They try to set them up in jobs and places to live.  They help them escape from their abusers.

The shop is a lovely place with clothes, and housewares, and paintings and I saw some Coach bags hanging in there too.  It’d not a little junk shop, it’s a nice warm comfy place that I’m sure makes some victims feel safe.

My Mom wasn’t a fashion plate, but she had beautiful sweaters and jackets that anyone would want.  She was 87 years old…but didn’t dress like an old lady!  She was housebound and on oxygen 24/7, but she had a different outfit on everyday.  She always looked so nice.

So here’s to my Mom who wanted her things to go to someone who really needed it.  I truly hope that some of the women that get her things will feel her strength and love. 

Thanks Mom….we did what you asked us to do!

5 responses

  1. Oh Mo! I’m so sorry about your mom’s passing. This post made me cry. I’m sure your mom is in heaven, looking down and smiling on you because you honored her wishes.

    I know your mom was an incredible woman, but I think her daughter is as well.

    Sending you love and hugs.

  2. My mom used to volunteer at a thrift store run by the local hospital’s auxilliary. Most of the women with whom she worked were older than her, and are gone or no longer able to help out (except for one feisty woman who must be in her mid-90s!). Although Mom stopped helping out as she shrunk her world down, we still felt it would be appropriate to donate her clothes there. (The other option was the local women’s shelter.)Ironically, you could see the shop’s building from mom’s hospital room window.
    I did keep some of mom’s scarves, clothes, and coats (things that remind me of her or fit me). When we dropped off the clothes, I didn’t mention Mom to the women who greeted us at the back door of the building (the drop-off spot) — they may have heard of her, but wouldn’t have known her personally. I did check back later to see how her clothes were selling — only a few items were still for sale! I did end up buying some clothes and some jewelry (not mom’s) before I left. I looked up at where mom had spentthe window to mom’s room as I was leaving, and waved yet another “good bye”
    Thanks for sharing the story. I know what you mean about it being “weird” emotionally; I’m sure that the women who receive your mom’s clothes will feel her strength and love. How wonderful that she wanted her things to go to such a place!

  3. What a nice picture of your mother. She has a sweet face and kind eyes. I bet she is very proud of you!

    We have a local thrift shop like that too. It is a wonderful place and helps many, many women.

  4. Maureen, I know only too well what you went through. When Lisa passed away, I stood before a closet filled with clothes. We decided that the best thing to do was to makes these clothes work for others. I found a place in San Antonio that specializes in assisting women who need clothing for that job interview that may be key to getting them and their children an open door. While I was unable to deliver the boxes, I knew that every item would be put to good use and treasured by the recipient. Even though Lois and Lisa are not here with us, we realize that that decision made all the difference in someone else’s life.

Leave a Reply

