If I don’t Take my Medicine I might Die. But if I Do take My Medicine I might Die.

Today I got a large shipment from my mail order pharmacy.  The box contained more papers than drugs.  I decided to look at them.  Of course the papers listed what each drug was and what it is used for…but the WARNINGS and SIDE EFFECTS blew me away.  I know that drugs come with warnings. Commercials for any drug rambles and rambles so long on all the warnings and side effects that after a while you just stop listening. These commercials are getting longer and longer I think.  The ads in magazines are worse.  They are usually two full pages of blah blah blah after the full ad page.  Does anybody read that stuff?  Even if I am waiting in the dentist’s office and I’m really bored I don’t read those. 

So I got a cup of coffee, sat down at the kitchen table and began to read all the horrible stuff listed as side effects and warnings.

These side effects are from only three of my drugs.

  • Allergic reaction, including skin rash, swelling of the face, lip or tongue
  • Vision changes
  • confusion
  • depression
  • feeling faint
  • weakness
  • hallucinations
  • vomiting
  • acne
  • trouble with balance, speaking, walking
  • restlessness, agitation
  • unusual activities while asleep like driving, making phone calls, eating
  • Fever. sore throat
  • frequent urination
  • mood swings
  • severe stomach ache
  • pain in legs, hips, ribs, arms, shoulders, and legs
  • wounds that will not heal
  • swelling of feet or lower leg
  • hypersensitivity reactions
  • acute multi-organ failures
  • blood dyscrasia
  • suicidal behavior
  • aseptic meningitis
  • sudden unexplained death
  • blurred vision
  • breast enlargement
  • chest pain
  • difficulty breathing
  • involuntary muscle movements
  • seizures

So, not only do these medications cost me a FORTUNE,  but they can fuck you up. (pardon my language)

How is this good for us??  I don’t know.  How all these chemicals make me feel better, help me function, help me sleep, help my blood pressure and cholesterol is beyond me.  I’ve often wondered how the medication knows where to go and what to do.  (Imagine little traffic cops in your veins and brains keeping everyone going the right direction)

Now, let’s talk about the cost of the killer medications.  But not tonight.  I have to go take my nighttime meds.  I will try not to call anyone during the night…I’ve done that…ask my sister…really.

4 responses

  1. I remind myself that those are only POTENTIAL side effects. Like Phylor, I have a lot of those symptoms before I ever pop a pill- and I pop a lot of pills! One of my (least) favourites is hair loss: I’m hypothyroid, so my hair falls out. The medication to treat it? Makes my hair fall out. I can’t win!

  2. It sounds like you have weighed the good and the bad. I hope you enjoyed good sleep, even if it was chemically induced :).

    Those labels are why I have such a hard time coming to terms with the use of anti-psychotics. The possible side-effects are frightening and one experienced doctor told me that some of them are not merely possible, but are guaranteed. She said it’s just a matter of time as to when the patient will develop certain conditions from taking them, particularly Tardive Dyskensia.

  3. The trouble is I often have the some of the side effects before taking the meds so how can I tell what is a side effect and what is part of my condition/health issue? For instance, flushing. I have rosacea and fllush alot due to lack of an internal thermostat/thermometer among other reasons. Now, one of my meds has flushing as a side effect. So, am I flushing due to my condition or due to the meds? I really feel like I blogged once: “I am my own side effect” (http://phylor.wordpress.com/2010/09/12/i-am-my-own-side-effect/) One drug I was taking (I wish I could remember which one), had growing black hair on your tongue as a potential side effect! Believe me, I was watching out for that one 😉
    No wonder you call them your nightmare meds! Hope you didn’t try to make any phone calls!

Leave a Reply

