Old Friends

 ve an old Friend.  Best Friends since the eighth grade.  Who would have guessed, we were so different.  But in our differences we found our “same-ness”.  We had our own language, our own words.  We talked on the phone all night or until one of our Mothers caught us.  We both almost flunked Typing our Senior year because we didn’t do the assignments…we typed notes to each other.  We put thousands of miles on our parent’s cars just driving around.  We were nerds.  I think we probably still are.  We don’t talk on the phone all night anymore.  Our lives changed many years ago.  But, when we see each other…it’s just like old times.  We are old friends. Happy Birthday Old Friend!

4 responses

  1. What a lovely post and how nice to see your friend’s reply, too 🙂

    Though a friend I wrote about today isn’t having a birthday just now, you and I were on the same track thinking about friendships and appreciating the special jewel that endures.

    Peace.

  2. MO,
    I finally found your blog! You like me blog, I like yours too and I subscribed. How nice to find each other this way. No need to feel guilty about your friend even though I know you probably feel this way. You can’t enable her, you are doing the right thing. I have a HS friend that resembles your lucky friend and believe it or not, I always associated the same song with her. Glad I found you, Laurie

  3. Maureen,
    What can I say… at least my teardrops aren’t dripping on the computer paper… That was just awesome… THANKYOU so much, you have no idea how much that meant to me… nobody can match that gift!! Old friend… you have done so much for me in my life, did we ever think we would be here… when we played our guitars, it seems like it was just 2 weeks ago.
    Thank you, my old fried ; D
    Love you,
    Laura

    • I’m glad you liked it Laura, too bad I couldn’t draw stickmen for you.

      My favorite line is that song is “It’s terribly sad to be seventy” I hope we are both still here when we are seventy, but we will say “We’re terribly GLAD we are seventy!”

      Hope everybody treated you nice on your birthday!

      Love ya too,
      Mo

Leave a Reply

