I Actually Cooked Today

One of the things I was going to try to accomplish in 2011 was to make dinner as often as I was able.  Yesterday and today I am suffering terribly with an “hangover-like” flare up of my Addison’s.  But I was determined to attempt to throw something together. 

Salad, tortellini, and garlic bread.  A feast in our house due to my lack of culinary skills.  Very tasty I must say.

While waiting for the water to boil I laid on the couch.  Then, while waiting for the tortellini and garlic bread, I laid on the couch.  When The Joe-Man got home he was flabbergasted because he knew I was having a bad day.

Yesterday was a “10”, today is about a “7”, I’m hoping tomorrow is a “4” or lower because I have dinner plans.  I will go to bed early and sleep late hoping to conserve any energy I have for the evening.

Chicago has done a stellar job in cleaning up the mess from this weeks blizzard.  Now we are going into a deep freeze for the weekend.  My son the Scoutmaster is leading a group of boys camping this weekend.  It is their annual “Klondike” campout, if you know anything about BSA, you know this is a biggie.  I predict that most parents will cancel and not let their boys go.  I don’t blame them.

Off to the couch with a pillow and blanket to watch Grey’s Anatomy.

8 responses

  1. Hey Mo,

    I sure hope you are okay. I’m sorry you are feeling so bad. My heart breaks for you that you tried so hard to cook when you are feeling crappy. And a level 10, or even a 7, Wow Mo. I wish I could give you a hug.

    It’s sad when we really want to live our lives and do normal things like make a meal but, well… it is hard isn’t it?

    I hope the reason you haven’t posted recently is because you are resting.

    I’ll be thinking of you Mo. Please take good care of yourself.

    With many well wishes,
    hugs xoxo,
    “Mrs. Dogkisses”

    • Thanks Mrs. D.K.
      I haven’t been feeling good the past few weeks and haven’t posted, but I’m still reading and trying to comment on my fav blogs. I’ll get beck in the swing of things soon…..I hope!
      xoxomo

  2. I just found your site!!! I cannot tell you how exciting it is for me to read about a fellow Addisonian’s personal, daily accounts – it’s like a MIRROR!!!! This disease is so difficult for others to understand, it is a blessing to find others who actually are writing about it in a REAL way and sharing the good and the bad. I will be searching all over and since I am a fellow blogger, I definitely understand that you are entitled to every feeling, every expression and every moment you experience. THANK YOU FOR SHARING!!!!

  3. Congrats Mo! That sounds delicious- my hubby loves garlic but I’m allergic so I can’t cook it for him. I’m glad your flare is dying down a little- I hope you’re doing even better for your dinner! *hugs*

  4. Good for you, Mo! I don’t know how you did that at a level of 10, wow. I bet it felt victorious though, as victorious as one can feel when feeling crappy anyway. Last night, I got sick of chicken soup–my go to safe food. We got pizza last and it was so yummy. Mark is heading up with some other faculty to Chicago this weekend for a college recruitment event. He gets to drive the van. At least he’ll have leg room.

    • I hope he doesn’t run into problems with the lack of plowing some streets in the city. My son Dan came home for a visit today and he said Bloomington caught more snow than we did here in Chicago. Hope you have a restful weekend!
      mo

Leave a Reply

