Old Sayings

A few weeks ago my 23 year old son had a hangover after drinking too much at a friend’s party.  (No, he didn’t drive).  His Dad told him he needed “a little of the hair of the dog”.  Dan had no idea what he meant.  Got me to thinking of all the old sayings our parents and grandparents used, and how our kids have never heard some of them.  I called my Sister and we came up with a list of some we remembered:

My old Irish Grandmother had a saying that she used often.  She was a beer drinker, and didn’t like to share it.  If a neighbor dropped in she would politely say, “I’d offer you a beer, but I know it’s not your brand”   Still cracks us kids up.  Funny old Irish Lady.

27 responses

  1. Hi Mo,
    I just had to come back and add that, “when the sun shines while it’s raining, the devil is beating his wife.”
    A little different than the others, but I thought it fit.
    Hope you are doing okay today.

    lots of hugs!

  2. I hear all of those around here all the time! Except around here it’s a “boldfaced lie” and I had no idea what “a little hair of the dog” means, but I think I’ve heard it in movies before. LOL But the rest of the list, is everyday conversation in West Virginia. 🙂
    You did a great job listing so many!
    I’ve got another one for you, my Grandma used to always say she’d have dinner ready in “two shakes of a cat’s tail”. 🙂

  3. OK, my mom had a few strange ones. I remember when ever she’d be driving and stuck trying to pull out in traffic she’d say, “Law of Averages we’ll get out of here sometime.” As a child I thought that was really a law, and if we weren’t able to get out then the police would come and stop traffic. : )

    One of her curses (and yes, my mom could swear) was “well, s*%t fire in a bucket and piss kerosene”.

    Can’t seem to think of more, but I know I’m often saying things like….”My mom used to say…”

    thanks for the laugh.
    I’ve needed it lately.
    wendy

    • Wendy, I hope you are having a good day. I will remember the “Shit fire in a bucket and piss kerosene” I like that one. I find myself using all these weird sayings the older I get! My kids think I m weird!!

  4. Oh Lord I am LMAO!!!

    Mo, this is just too much fun and exactly what I needed today!! Thank you and your commenters for not only lightening up the mood, but using ALL the quotes I was going to put down….and a LOT I have never heard.

    My brain can’t think of any others right now….if it decides to work, I will come back and drop one off. lol

    Gentle Hugs—-<3

  5. I’m giggling here! What a delight in both post and comments! I know I’m going to be “racking my brains” to remember all the things we used to say though you’ve “covered the bases” really well.

    Posts this much fun are as “rare as hen’s teeth!”

    Peace.

  6. Along those lines, my dad used to say: “She/He thought her/his sh*t didn’t stink, but her/his farts gave her/him away.” One of my mother’s curses (and she didn’t use many) was “sh*t in a mitt.”
    This discussion thread has been hilarious! Thanks for starting it, Mo!

  7. “Spit in one hand and wish in the other and see which one fills up the fastest.”

    “If I didn’t have bad luck, I wouldn’t have any at all.” (That one was my Mother’s).

    “What won’t kill you makes you stronger.”

    “It’s like riding a bicycle. You never forget how.”

    “When you sleep with dogs, you wake up with fleas.” (This is not true, ruff ruff.)

    • My sister reminded me of another one. “He;s so lucky that he could stick his hand in a bucket of sh*& and come out with a hand full of gold.”
      Thanks for remembering more of those good old sayings!
      xoxomo

  8. I use quite a few of these, mostly gleaned from my mom. One of my favourites is “caught between the devil and the deep blue sea” (as in “caught between a rock and a hard place”). “Don’t count your chickens before they’re hatched” is another one. I was thrilled to learn that the Brazilian equivalent of this wise piece of advice is “Don’t count the eggs in a chicken’s butt.” Seriously. ;D

  9. Bet you “dollars to donuts”, he regretted, “having gone to hell in a handbasket” by “tieing one on.” But “knock on my wooden head,” he won’t “need the hair of the dog” again for a while. Unless, of course, it’s “raining cats and dogs!”

Leave a Reply

