What would you take?

There’s a blog dedicated to that very subject created by Foster Huntington.  Here’s a bit of what he says about his blog:“The Burning House” showcases photos and lists of the things people would take with them if their house was burning. The project is a little over a month old and so far has received over three hundred submissions!”      

Read More of Foster Huntington’s interview on  http://www.gq.com/style/blogs/the-gq-eye/2011/06/something-different-the-burning-house.html#ixzz1WOJsaa4y

Here’s what his instructions are:

If your house was burning, what would you take with you? It’s a conflict between what’s practical, valuable and sentimental. What you would take reflects your interests, background and priorities. Think of it as an interview condensed into one question.   http://theburninghouse.com/

I stole this topic from my Friend Judy.  What would I take?

  • My Pets and their food
  • My son’s Taylor Guitar
  • My Medication
  • Clothes
  • Bagles and Diet Pepsi
  • One family picture
  • St. Terese Statue
  • Debit card and money
  • A picture of my Mother in her Mrs. Santa Claus outfit
  • My drawer with all the important papers: passports, social security cards, vehicle titles and love letters from my husband.
  • A blanket

What about you?  What means the most to you?  Would you leave empty-handed even if you had time to grab some things?  In an instance that I couldn’t get anything but my pets, that would be it. 

I am interested in what other people will say. 

mo

10 responses

  1. Wonderful post, Mo! You’ve given me a very good context in which to think about what it truly means to live a simpler life.

    I’d like to think I’d take only what lives, that I’m free of too much attachment to “stuff” and yet the idea of my house burning down horrifies me – so I’m pretty sure I’d be lying to myself if I said now that I’d reached that level 😉 I want my house! I don’t want it more than people (I know I wouldn’t want anyone to get hurt trying to save it) – but I do want it.

    Ahh so much work to do on me – good thing God’s working, too, eh?

    You’ve shared something here that I suspect will be with me for a very long time, thank you my friend. I hope this finds you having one of the better days.

    Peace.

  2. Hi Mo–thanks for subscribing to my blog–you asked how I found yours–I was visiting another blogger (Sunshine and Chaos) who had been to visit my site, and found your comment…I often click on comments to find interesting blogs to read, and thus found yours.

    What would I take away from a house fire? Not my meds–they can be replaced; I don’t have any animals at the present time so okay there; I would likely try to grab my laptop and iPad2 because they have most of my recent pics stored on them plus have a lot of my writing on them, my box of pictures of the children when they were little, my late husband’s ashes (I know, that’s weird to save ashes from a fire), his wedding band, and my files downstairs of my writing that I don’t have on hard disk anymore.

    But knowing me, if that terrible calamity ever happened, I would probably grab silly things such as a coffee cup and a pound of butter, and maybe an umbrella! No idea why but I just have a feeling that a person can always find a use for an umbrella.

  3. There really is no conflict between what is practical and what is sentimental when you’re in a panic, you know? Get my family and my dog out!! And if I actually am thinking (which I probably won’t be) I would grab my prescription medications because those are something I need to function.

    The paperwork, the pictures…everything is uploaded online and off site, so I wouldn’t worry about that. Maybe grab my computer and my purse? But mostly I know my only goal would be to make sure my family and my dog are safe.

    • Kathy, Your comment maade me remember something my son the firefighter told me about five years ago. On the way to a house fire, when they were pulling up to the house, he realized with horror that he knew the family that lived there. The Mom was somewhat hysterical, of course, and Bill did get a chance to talk to her after the fire was out. The house unfortunatley was totalled. After all was over this poor distraught woman asked Bill if he would go get her purse out of her car. The fire had started in the garage, the car was a charred and melted mess. But that is what she asked him. She wanted her cell phone.

Leave a Reply

