Friend

A year ago today I lost my oldest and dearest Friend.  My Friend was always there for me…57 years and 31 days…always within reach and available.

While growing up, my Friend was my greatest cheerleader.

My Friend taught me about life, love, acceptance, empathy, loyalty and persistence.

My Friend and I could talk about anything, and my Friend always gave the best advice…most of the time.

My Friend had strong opinions about a lot of  things, and didn’t hesitate to tell you.  This taught me that every situation has many sides, and people don’t always agree.

My Friend taught me to love reading, how to understand baseball, how to make my own clothes, how to sooth a two-year old with a fever, how to frost a cake, and how to make deviled eggs.

I miss my Friend more than I could have ever imagined.  I still go to pick up the phone to share some exciting news or gossip with my Friend, and then I remember that my Friend…..is gone

My oldest and dearest Friend was my Mother.  She took a piece of my heart when she left, but left so much here for me to cherish and remember.

She was there when I entered this world.

I was there when she left this world.

This is the way life goes.  I wish life was easier.

17 responses

  1. My dear friend,

    Oh how I know your sadness…..honey my mom was also my best friend and it may never really sink in my hard-head that I can’t pick up the phone and chat…..

    You write so beautifully and your tribute is awesome.

    My heart is certainly with you Mo.

    Shauna

  2. I understand the emptiness, and like laurie, I knew you were writing about your mother. My thoughts are with you, and (((((hugs))))) are sent. These “anniversaries” aren’t easy — especially the first few. You were lucky to have had such a special mother; no wonder you miss her.

  3. me too.
    I lost my mother over 19 years ago now, and I still feel the rawness of missing my friend.

    Lately, with everything that has been going on all I want is my mom.

    It’s hard.

    but she taught me to be strong.
    and I’d like for her to be proud of me…so I’m being as strong as I can be.

    heart to you
    w

  4. I lost my Mom just about a year ago. I try to keep her with me in that I remember that all I do, she will still be watching me. She is watching from above and I know this. True, we can not pick up the phone to call, or embrace in an earthly hug anymore but I know she is alive in me…in everything I say and do…I speak for her because she taught me. I have no doubt your Mom is watching you too and you keep her alive in everything you say and do. And I also have no doubt your impact many. Yes, she is honored through you and all you do.

  5. Mo, I am so sorry for your loss. Good friends should be cherished, which you so very much do. That was a beautiful post. Thank you for sharing your friend with the rest of us. I wish life was easier too…

  6. MO, what a beautiful, loving tribute to your Friend, which I knew, from the moment I started reading it, was your beloved mom. Your kindness and friendship to others would make your mom so proud. She did such a great job with you and I’m sure your sister too. You are loving and warm and so giving. Mom is smiling at you and with you and believe me, I know, she is very proud of you. You MADE her proud. love, Laurie F.

Leave a Reply

